The Marriage Pact - Michelle Richmond

The Marriage Pact

By Michelle Richmond

  • Release Date: 2017-07-25
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 92 Ratings

Description

How far is too far when it comes to protecting your marriage? Find out in this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense for anyone who loved The Couple Next Door.

“Ranks with The Stepford Wives and Gone Girl as a terrifying look at what it really means to say ‘I do.’”—Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of The Switch

Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known rock band, is now a successful lawyer. Jake is a partner in an up-and-coming psychology practice. Their life together holds endless possibilities. After receiving an enticing wedding gift from one of Alice’s prominent clients, they decide to join an exclusive and mysterious group known only as The Pact.

The goal of The Pact seems simple: to keep marriages happy and intact. And most of its rules make sense. Always answer the phone when your spouse calls. Exchange thoughtful gifts monthly. Plan a trip together once per quarter. . . .

Never mention The Pact to anyone.

Alice and Jake are initially seduced by the glamorous parties, the sense of community, their widening social circle of like-minded couples.

And then one of them breaks the rules.

The young lovers are about to discover that for adherents to The Pact, membership, like marriage, is for life. And The Pact will go to any lengths to enforce that rule.

For Jake and Alice, the marriage of their dreams is about to become their worst nightmare.

Praise for The Marriage Pact

“This fast-paced nail-biter goes in unpredictable directions. . . . It also raises thoughtful questions about individual agency and marital commitment. With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists. Recommended as a fresh voice for readers of Gillian Flynn or Ruth Ware.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Creepy and engrossing . . . [The Marriage Pact takes] readers deep into the heart of a marriage and exposes some of the darker drives, such as possession and control, that can lurk within even the most harmonious of unions.”Booklist

“Gripping, thought-provoking, and irresistible.”—Dean Koontz

“Riveting psychological suspense! This book will keep you up all night, while making you second-guess everything you know and everyone you’ve ever loved.”—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Right Behind You

Reviews

  • I couldn’t put it down.

    5
    By Andrealynnstuartfarris
    I couldn’t wait to see what happened next! Best book I’ve read in a while.
  • Utterly ridiculous!

    2
    By janrph
    Juvenile writing and storytelling, totally unbelievable storyline. It started out fascinating but got more and more ridiculous as the story went on.
  • The Marriage Pact

    5
    By Marsufk
    Enjoyed the book!
  • $13.99 and full of typos!

    1
    By MygiftsA&L
    Why is this practically $14.00 and is an unedited copy? Come on iBooks?!!! I will never, ever pay that for an unedited book!
  • The Marriage Pact

    2
    By DottieRo
    When I read a book I like, I can’t put it down. This book sat for days without me touching it in between reads. It was ok at best. Nice enough lead characters, but the story just doesn’t seem authentic. A bit off. Would not recommend. Much better reads out there.
  • The Marriage Pact

    5
    By oakwomanao
    Great read - loved the twists & turns. Takes something so many want so badly to succeed - marriage - and shows how a few seemingly simple choices to do the right thing can go so wrong. Highly recommend!
  • Stays with you

    5
    By Drcbartlett
    I could not out this book down and am still thinking about it. This would be a great movie!
  • Intriguing Thriller

    3
    By User072119
    I was super excited to read The Marriage Pact after hearing nothing but great things about it and reading the intriguing blurb. After reading the book, I am left with mixed feelings.  The idea of The Marriage Pact and its characters were original and intriguing. Plus,  I really liked Jake as a narrator. Most narrators are female, so reading an entire book from a male perspective was a nice change.  At times Jake's thoughts could end up on a tangent that I felt was unnecessary and didn't really add to the plot. If his thoughts had been a bit more controlled, I feel like the book would have been paced better. The story was slow to start and even after it picked up Jake's tangents could cause what felt like a lull. Overall, I enjoyed the book and once I was about a third of the way through, I couldn't put it down. I voluntarily received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
  • The Marriage Pact

    4
    By Jacob9711
    The book was good and kept me interested the entire time. Read the entire book in two sittings. The plot picked up at the end and felt rushed compared to the rest of the book but overall a good pace. I wanted more at the end but the ending wasn't as bad as I thought.
  • FABULOUS and definitely a novel you will never forget

    5
    By Rockbuff
    Remember reading "The Firm" for the first time and just not wanting it to end? Or your first Baldacci or Nelson Demille favorite? The Marriage Pact is really that good, it leaves you wanting more from this story and this very talented author! The ambiguous ending left me hoping for a part two, or 8 episodes on HBO. Highest rating and recommendation.